• Blog
    Daily Devotion
    Faith Builders
    News
    Weekly Sermons
History
St Lucas Evangelical Lutheran Church has a long, rich history in the Kewaskum area. August 20, 1877 is the date recorded for organization of St. Lucas as a Lutheran congregation. The oldest baptismal record is dated January 11, 1857. The original constitution is dated November 1, 1863. In 1885 the congregation consisted of about 65 persons and the first parochial school was built. Two years later the present parsonage was purchased. Throughout the years, it has housed all of our pastors and families with the exception of our current second pastor. Rev. Henning and his family reside in the former teacherage.

As the congregation grew, it became apparent that a new church was needed. On February 1, 1914, St. Lucas members dedicated their new structure - to the Glory of God. In 1925 the English language was adopted to be used in the congregation. On August 14, 1927, the 50th Anniversary was celebrated. The first and only pipe organ was installed and dedicated during the time Pastor Kaniess served our parish. The Education Building was constructed and dedicated to the Glory of God in 1961.

Rev. Hoenecke assumed his pastorate in 1966. In September of 1976 the first classes were held in the newly organized St. Lucas Lutheran Elementary School. In June 1988, Rev. Hoenecke was called to eternal life after a lengthy illness.

In September of that year, the Lord blessed us with a new shepherd. Rev. Fredrich was installed into service with the congregation now numbering 1,300 baptized and 1,000 communicant members. During several of these years, we were privileged to have the services of senior vicars from the WELS seminary in Mequon to assist both Pastor Hoeneke and Pastor Fredrich.

The Lord continued to bless the St. Lucas Christian Education effort, as both the Sunday School and Lutheran Elementary School continued to experience growth. Soon it became evident that the current facilities were not large enough. On December 9, 1990 members gathered on the site of the future fellowship/education addition and broke ground while asking the Lord to bless the undertaking. On October 20, 1991 members gathered to once more praise the Lord and set aside the addition to His Glory. The addition included a gymnasium/fellowship hall, shower facilities, classrooms, office areas, and storage space. The completion of the upper level and kitchen soon followed.

In July of 1991, the congregation, through the WELS Assignment Committee, issued a call for an associate pastor. Graduate, Rev. Timothy Henning, was assigned to serve. His ordination and installation were held on August 11, 1991.

The 125th anniversary of the organization of St. Lucas was celebrated in 2002 using the theme "From Generation to Generation."

In November of 2006 Pastor Fredrich accepted a Call to serve at "The Lutheran Home" in Belle Plaine, MN. After several Calls, Pastor Troy Swenson accepted a Call to serve St. Lucas in early 2008. Pastor Swenson was installed in April of 2008.  In May o f 2016 Pastor Swenson accepte a call to serve as superintendent at Illinois Lutheran Schools.

Our Pastors and their length of service at St. Lucas:

 

Pastor

Installation Date

Duration of Pastorate

F. Hilpert

1875 

9 years

Fredrick Greve 

1884

37 years

H. H. Heidel

1923 

5  years

Gerhard Kaniess

1928

32 years

Donald Bitter

1960

5   years

Paul Hoenecke

1966 

22 years 

Edwin Fredrich

1988

18 Years

Timothy Henning

1991

To present

Troy Swenson

2008

8 years